Leo Hoffmann-Axthelm

Research & Advocacy Coordinator – Eurozone Economic Governance

Leo joined Transparency International EU in 2015 to coordinate the programme on the transparency and democratic accountability of EU economic governance institutions. Prior to joining TI, Leo worked at the European Commission's Joint Research Centre and in the Director-General's team at DG ECFIN. Before entering EU affairs, he had a short stint as disarmament attaché for the pacific island of Nauru at the UN in New York and co-founded the German branch of the International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons (ICAN) in Berlin. Raised between Berlin and Venice, Leo studied EU political economy, international relations, economics and anthropology in Berlin, Dresden, Buenos Aires and the College of Europe, Bruges.

Leo's Projects

Eurozone Economic Governance

Investigating the transparency and democratic accountability of the EU’s economic governance

College of Europe Transparency Group

Partnering with Europe's young and bright to focus on the EU's democratic legitimacy

Recent News